Awards and Grants

Young Investigators Award:
This is a prize for the best abstract submitted by an author within 5 years of starting their sleep research or clinical career. The prize is a funded place at the ESRS Conference, and support towards travel costs up to £400.

Previous Winners:

2013 Dr Priya Shah

Lyn Davies Award:
This joint award is shared with ARTP given to the best overall poster. Awarded by BSS in 2015 (for 2016). The prize is a £100 Amazon voucher

Previous Winners:

2015    James Stockley

2014    Professor John Stradling

Colin Sullivan Research Award:
We are very excited to announce this NEW award given by Colin himself to promote UK sleep research. It is a prize for the best research proposal submitted by an author within 5 years of starting their research or clinical career. The award is a £1000 research grant, and the recipient must be attending Newcastle Sleep 2015.

For more information please visit: 

Travel Grant

Applications for the BSS Travel awards are now open to all BSS Members to apply. There are 5 awards available for members who are attending Newcastle Sleep Conference, October 22nd– 24th 2015.

The awards will cover travel and subsistence expenses.

To apply for the BSS Travel grant please complete the attached application form: Travel Grant Application form

Recipients of the award are required to write a piece for the BSS Newsletter / Web site giving their impressions of the meeting and what they learned while attending within one month following the meeting.

The deadline for applying is 28th August

Recipients will be chosen on merit by the Executive Board.

Please note that the BSS Travel awards will only be awarded to applicants where funding required cannot be financed from other sources. If applicants have applied for funds from other sources to support them in addition to this application, this must be specified together with the additional amount required

Any queries, please contact